top of page

A Kind of Paradise


In various novels and books there is often reference to places that exhibit peace and tranquillity as a place of paradise. But there are few places that can match the tranquil sounds of the bush.

At Shambala you are welcomed to free flowing rivers, vast wilderness, unexploited landscapes and the unique wildlife of the African bush. Here 'tranquil' and 'peace' are not just words spoken or written to exalt feeling or phrase, they are experiences. Such an experience can be brought to reality, as I have realised, at Shambala; Paradise on Earth.

On an early morning Game Drive I was privileged enough to find Lions close to a dam, giving me a good morning roar as if to say "Wake up, welcome! A new day awaits". The sound of the roar so loud that you vibrate as you sit in awe of these amazing animals, so close that your skin develops goose bumps as they sound their vocals.

Right next to where the Lions were laying is a large lake, with Hippos grunting back to try and combat the vocals of the Lion unsuccessfully. A crocodile smirks nearby as he submerges under the water.

I continued on my way as I was now wide awake. I found myself driving up a hillside, with a beautiful river valley below. As I reached the top of the hill I noticed a giraffe staring across the road.

I turned to see what it was looking at and there, on the other side of the road, was a herd of Elephants. It's always astounding to think that such large animals make so little noise. I enjoyed their company before heading down the hill to the lodge, that is situated right next to an open water area on the river amongst the rocks running along the gorge.

Later that afternoon for sundowners I accompanied guests on a boat ride, or "ferry", on the dam where we enjoyed the sun setting on a beautiful day.

The Baboons were walking on the dam wall, and Hippos breathing on the surface of the water next to us.

There was a good diversity of birds around as well, and that contributed to the setting with their tranquil calls easing the day by. We enjoyed our drinks on the upper deck of the boat whilst overlooking the sunset over the African sky. So peaceful; It is a kind of paradise.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page